Daily Photo- Spring Blossoms Reimagined

This was a photo taken a few weeks ago, that I liked but didn’t know how to post-process it.  I didn’t want to do the regular treatment to it… tonight, with this deadline for a posting (challenge can be a great creative motivator, I’ve found!), I played with the image until I found something that approximated my feelings/memories/yearning for spring.  It was 97 degrees today and the spring blossoms are long gone.  Although living with 4 seasons is amazing in many ways, I have such a hard time watching them fly past at breakneck speed!  Where I grew up, in California, seasons were mainly noticed due to a temperature change of about 20 degrees and increased rain at times.  LOL.  I do miss aspects of that!

This photo was cold-tone processed in Adobe Lightroom, then fine-tuned there and in Photoshop.  I do have to say that post-processing is probably my favorite part of photography… and I really, really enjoy the actual photographing side as well.  But watching something grow out of your imagination, seeing changes wrought on an image, seeing inner beauty pop out where it was just barely glimpsed before, is so incredible!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Daily Photo- Spring Blossoms Reimagined

  • Simone

    Very nice. And it works very well in black and white!

    • Kelley Bard Photography

      It’s actually put through the “cold-tone” filter in lightroom, then changed further beyond that. It looks b&w here but there is the barest bit of color around the flowers- very, very faded and desaturated. I was looking at different looks and that was the one that called to me. I also removed much of the blue that the cold-tone filter gives a photo. Anyways, I don’t put a high-res version here, but my website has a better one that shows the colors clearer- in the flowers gallery at http://www.kelleybard.com. Thanks for the comments and come back to enjoy my work again!

Leave a Reply

