Alan, Djing

So, onto a new style of photos!

I took these photos at the annual Durango Spring Art Walk, which was pretty fun and very crowded.  There are a lot of galleries in my town, and they all throw a good party.  This one, at the Open Shutter Gallery (photography gallery, of course!) was the best party.  CROWDED as hell.  I had my camera on a monopod and was wandering, surreptitiously trying to take peoples photos.  That was fun in itself and I got a few good ones.  These two were of the dj, Alan Kahler (a photographer himself, find him on flickr as “hue 62”).

I did warn him that I would be taking some shots of him over the course of the night, but I don’t know if he realized it when these were shot.  Part of what I love about it is the background of these amazing floral shots and all the photography books.  These were hard to edit, due to the extreme lighting, the colors, and the grain (I had to shoot at a pretty high ISO to get photos at all in the darkened gallery).  But photoshop and imagenomic software really helped to bring the image back.  I was able to send off the photos to Alan happily!

PS- I had another photo of Alan reaching for his Mac computer- I liked how it turned out but he didn’t…. I guess I’m not making any Apple ads in the near future!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

