Mother’s Gravestone

I had SO much fun in the short photo shoot I took in the Bayfield, CO cemetery!  This was another beautiful gravestone that I saw as I wandered around.  I set up the tripod, snapped off 3 bracketed exposures, and was so excited for the HDR that would come out of it.  Photomatix didn’t disappoint.  The sky in the background, the stone texture… I love it all.  I’m really grateful for getting such beautiful images and getting to play with them.  To the family of the unknown person whose grave this is, I’m very grateful to you too.

Often, to get a really overwhelming HDR image, I will use the tone mapping feature 2 or more times, really concentrating the HDR effect.  This image, though, only needed one trip through tone mapping to get this beautiful effect.  It’s neat to me when I get such strong results from a set of images.  Always learning, I guess!

See this image and more at www.kelleybard.com.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Mother’s Gravestone

  • Kelley Bard Photography

    Besides the Photomatix for the HDR processing, I also played with the photo’s colors a bit. This was a blue sky day with lots of great cloud cover, so I removed the blue from the image (it was a bit distracting). I kept the yellow tones in the gravestone though, and even lightened up the area around “Our Mother” a bit, although not much more than the HDR process already had done. Hope you enjoy this!

Leave a Reply

