Wedding Dress HDR

I photographed a wedding on Saturday- my first as a professional photographer.  It was a great experience!  I took 1200 photos over the course of the day… whew!  I also had a friend helping out, directing the group and giving ideas for photos, and taking photos from a different perspective during the ceremony so nothing got missed.  I really enjoyed the whole day, although it was EXHAUSTING.  I’ve been editing today and I’m down to 800 usable photos… I hope to be able to cull it down to about 250 photos given to the bride and groom by the end of the week.  Then the real editing will begin…

I took the time to switch to multiple exposures whenever possible during the day, so I could process some photos as HDR images.  I got a few of the bride and I’ll see how that worked out- my experience is people don’t always make good HDR subjects, their skin looks too strange.  This image, though, came out pretty well.  I like how colorful the bouquet came out, and how the dress with it’s multiple folds looks.  The aspen leaves, shadows on the tent, came out so beautiful.  I’ll try some other images and see how they work out, post some here if they come out good!

The processing of this was done with Photomatix, and then the tif was put through photoshop, using the imagenomics noiseware professional plug-in to clean up details.

Once the wedding party has viewed all of the photos and made their decisions, the best images will be posted in my wedding portfolio gallery at www.kelleybard.com.  You can see other examples of my work there as well, enjoy them!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Wedding Dress HDR

Leave a Reply

