Grinning Bride

Sorry, everyone, for 2 wedding posts in a row- I’m working hard at all these pics so naturally they are what springs to mind when I think about photos to post!  This picture is one of my favorites so far from the wedding I shot on Saturday.  The bride was really hoping for some photos without her tattoos showing.  She had a big arm piece and a smaller band on this arm, and it was fun to clone it out using photoshop.  It gives her a bit of a farmers tan, though… any thoughts from you guys out there on how to remove that?  I just did a lot of random cloning, trying to make it blend in.  I also used Portraiture to get the smooth skin look- yes, I bought it outright!  The people at Imagenomics were very nice and helpful and their products (Noiseware Professional and Portraiture, among others) are GREAT for digital and HDR work.  I wish I was better at smoothing skin tones using gaussian blur in photoshop, but it always comes out a bit noisy.  Anyways, Portraiture is amazing and I’m going to have lots of fun learning it’s limits and abilities.

I finished with my general steps- push up the contrast, vibrancy and clarity a bit and voila!  I seem to always like to change those around.  Sometimes I desaturate though, going the other direction with images.  I really think the individual pictures tell me what direction to go in post-processing… and there is always the fun of trying it out and seeing what can happen.  Enjoy!

This photo will eventually end up in my bridal portfolio on www.kelleybard.com, but it’s not there yet.  Feel free to browse and hopefully find some treasures there, though!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

