Protea HDR

I’m following Trey Ratcliff’s idea that HDR should be viewed large… actually I just didn’t want to resize the photo, so I uploaded the one I had stored 😀

I’m trying to get off the wedding photo kick I’ve been on for a few days here, so I looked over older stuff and this photo called to me.  Oddly enough, it is the same colors as the wedding that I just shot, so I really can’t seem to completely get away from wedding stuff… sigh.

This photo came from a shoot I did at April’s Garden, a flower shop in Durango, CO (and did you know, the wedding that I shot, the flowers came from April who used to own April’s Garden… oh, shut up, head!).  Back to the photo- I’ve always loved Protea flowers, they are so strange looking.  And one of the things I enjoy in HDR images is the slight “glow” that can happen around edges.  So this seemed like a no brainer to see how Protea would look HDR’ed.  I took 3 shots at different exposures and combined them in Photomatix, then cleaned the image up in Photoshop with Imagenomics Noiseware Professional.  I think the final image explores that alien, other-worldly look that Protea’s have.

What do you guys think about the larger image?  Yea or Nay?

See this and other images on www.kelleybard.com.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

3 responses to “Protea HDR

Leave a Reply

