Spider Attack and Future Events

First, the story… I was walking down my steps today and saw this mass of miniature spiders hanging in their web.  Hundreds of them.  All of them on the move, all of them about the size of the head of a pin.  They were little yellow dots hanging in the air- I was fascinated.  Usually I fear spiders but these… they were too small, too cute… I couldn’t do anything but watch them.  I sent my kids inside, got my camera and took image after image.  I attempted to spray the web with water droplets… it made the web a little more visible but not as much as I hoped.

In post processing, I really worked to bring out the intricacies of the web, playing with contrast, the curves, making the spiders brighter, the background darker.  Black and white seemed to be the best way to show the spiders, so I changed a bunch of the pictures to grayscale.  Hopefully you will enjoy the photos.  I will post more in the future.  You can see these in a larger scale on www.kelleybard.com in the animal gallery.

Speaking of the future, I will be traveling for a while and without access to photoshop or lightroom (gasp!).  I’ll bring some photos along to post but I may not be sending out a daily photo like I have been trying.  Rest assured, though, that I will be posting some GREAT images when I return!  I’m definitely bringing my camera. 🙂

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Spider Attack and Future Events

Leave a Reply

