Nighttime at the Tower of the Americas Fountain

I took this image on my recent trip to San Antonio, TX.  The base of the Tower of the Americas has a really nice water area… perfect, I am sure, for when it gets really hot.  Fountains predominate, but there were other nice features that reflected the riverwalk and the importance of water to this city.  This particular fountain seemed really incredible to me- very natural, quiet, large – a thing of beauty unexpectedly tucked into a corner of the city.

The first night that I visited, I wandered over towards the tower and found this.  I knew that I wanted to photograph it immediately.  I only had my little handheld with me though, and other than a few snapshots to remember the spot by, I wasn’t going to try anything that would strain the poor Canon’s chips.  It took a few days to get a chance to go on a photo outing, but when I dragged my camera out I knew this was one of the places I had to go.  It worked out nice, too, because I grabbed my gear on Fourth of July and ended up at the tower that evening, ostensibly to look for fireworks but with this in mind.  Although there were people up around the tower area, looking (vainly, mostly) for fireworks, the water space was pretty empty.  I was able to set up where I wanted and take many long exposures of the different aspects of the water fountain.

The resulting image was grainy and still dark, but some photoshop and lightroom playing brought it to be the photo posted above.  I had hopes of doing this as an HDR image (High Dynamic Range) but when I processed it as such, with other exposures of the same scene, I wasn’t happy with the result.  It’s a good lesson to me that not every photo is a good HDR image.  I like this photo much better standing on it’s own.

I have already posted this image on my website, www.kelleybard.com, and you can go there to see other examples of my work.  Or return to check out my daily photo entries here!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

