Lincolns Secret Door

I just found this door fascinating!  It was at the base of the stairs to the Lincoln Memorial, off to the side.  No big fancy lock, no sign saying what’s inside.  Maybe it’s Lincoln’s broom closet, who knows.  But it was beautiful, brilliant copper, set in this imposing wall… too fun.  I took several shots on my tripod (and let me tell you, tripods and Washington, D.C. memorials DO NOT go together, but if you are fast at taking shots and not right in the middle of the crowds, you can get away with it for a bit… although I was told it was a hefty fine if you get caught.  Why?  There are no signs saying no tripods… oh, but I digress).

I processed this as an HDR image, and then, for fun, double tone processed THAT, so it came out a bit unworldly.  I liked how the door looked, but had to work hard in Lightroom and Photoshop, playing with the exposure on the other sections of the photo, to bring it all together.  A surprising amount of time was put into the processing of this photo!  But I like the final image a lot, especially the door.  God that is an amazing shade that copper (+ photoshop and lightroom) can produce with waterstaining!

For anyone tired of my trip photos, I’ll be posting some other images soon…. but I still have LOTS of D.C. and San Antonio photos to finish, so expect a good sprinkling of them in the future!

Posted already on my website, www.kelleybard.com, where you can order prints if you so desire.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

