Riverwalk Church, Textured and a few Thoughts

So, with all these people from San Antonio visiting my site, I felt that I should continue on the San Antonio theme for another day.  I do have some infant photos lined up, and some more Bohanan’s images, and some from other trips and views.  My general view on photography is follow what the photo tells you.  This holds true especially in post-processing (probably my favorite part of photography).  I love to get a good shot but I really, really love to tease out that perfect image through trials and errors in various programs.  I know I’ve stated this before in other ways- it’s just on my mind now more than ever.

I try to vary my photo postings here.  I am doing a daily photo blog, which can often be a challenge and many times a great joy.  It forces me to be more creative, that is for sure.  Perhaps that is where this texture overflow is coming from?  Who knows.

San Antonio is blessed with some incredible views- from the iconic (The Alamo) to the striking (hidden nooks along the riverwalk and through the streets). This image is of a church I spied along the riverwalk on my very first walk through the area.  I never went closer, which saddens me, because it is obviously a beautiful building.  I was struck by the almost tropical foliage along the walk, with this imposing building rising behind it.  On top of that, there was this grey, foreboding sky (I was there near the arrival of the first hurricane of the season).  I processed the image as an HDR to get the otherworldly look firmly in place.  HDR creates a large range of light in an image, and I felt this needed the mix.  I also felt, after the initial processing, that the sky was a bit blah.  It had clouds, but just wasn’t that interesting.  That is where the textures came in.  I layered a few different textures on the image and played with them until I felt comfortable with the image.  I still did some more adjusting, though, when I put the image into Lightroom- it was fun to change around the hue and saturations of the photo.  I ended up sharpening up the church and the stones along the path, and softening the greenery, to give it as much of a dreamy appearance as I could.

This was a fun photo to play with.  I also have it posted on my website, www.kelleybard.com.  I continue to post San Antonio photos in my Places gallery.  I have many other types of images in the various galleries available there, please feel free to browse!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Riverwalk Church, Textured and a few Thoughts

Leave a Reply

