Abandoned Hawaiian Building & News from HDRspotting.com Posts

When I lived on the North Shore of Oahu, I would see this building every time I drove over towards Kahuku, just past the surf spots out from Haleiwa.  It is on the Crawfords Retirement Home property, and I would love to know it’s history.  Anyways, one of the mornings I left my hotel to go shoot this July, I headed towards this building.  I got there just as the sun was rising over the horizon, and the moon was still out and bright over the building, giving a  bit of light.  The place is spookily beautiful, and I tried to share that in the image.  It also has a taste of Cuba to me- i think it is how I imagine parts of Havana to look. I wandered around the property, looking for the best view of this building.  I really loved the graffiti? on the inside wall of the building, and the wrecked paint on the outside.  The tree and the shot of the road give it the tropical feeling.  So this angle was my favorite, although it just misses showing the moon or the sunrise.  The sky this morning wasn’t very colorful anyways, so no great loss.  I removed any blue from the sky for the picture, I think it looks better this way.

I processed this as a 2 image HDR, as one of my pictures was wobbly.  Photomatix took care of the HDR, and I tried from the beginning to give this a classic HDR look.  Hopefully it isn’t too over the top.  Sometimes I like the otherworldly, cartoonish HDR’s, though, if not too bright or garish.  After I imported the finished HDR into Photoshop, I used Topaz Adjust to really bring out the HDR aspects.  I forget which setting I used but it definitely made the photo into what it is now.  Some masking was needed, as there was a tropical breeze that day and the plants were definitely showing it after processing.  I also used Noiseware Professional to try to denoise the sky… it worked about 80% of the way.  I may decide to texture over the sky to cover the noise left… not sure if I would like that or not!  Right now I’m happy with the image as is.  Any suggestions would, of course, be appreciated though!

My photo is on my website at www.kelleybard.com, so be sure to stop there to see a larger version.  I post a daily photo here and try to vary them quite a lot… come back by and see what tomorrow will bring.  No idea on this end but I will try to make it yummy eye candy!

News from my featured photo on HDRSpotting.com– “Waimea Bay Sunrise” has had 1600 views in the past few days and it’s very exciting to get so much exposure!  I hope that people will continue to view it and enjoy the image.  This photo will also be posted on HDRspotting.com, so in a few days you can look for this there.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

3 responses to “Abandoned Hawaiian Building & News from HDRspotting.com Posts

Leave a Reply

