Lava and Plumeria, Textured

This is a fanciful photo that I carefully put together… a fresh, dewy Plumeria (my favorite Hawaiian flower) placed on a lava rock at my father’s house.  I photographed this, planning for it to be an HDR image.  But, as often happens, photos have a mind of their own.  I found that I liked one of the single images better, and I really wanted to see what would happen with some added textures.  In Photoshop I applied several textures, including one of lichen on a rock wall which I picked up on this same trip to Hawaii.  I did some careful masking to keep the Plumeria somewhat clear, and after some sharpening and noiseware work, with final touches I ended up with this image.  I like the added depth and hope that you enjoy it too!

Located in my Hawaii collection at www.kelleybard.com.  I have several other images there from my recent Hawaii trip.  I suggest seeing these pictures large, so view them on my site for better appreciation!

More photos tomorrow, I have a nice single image and an HDR which I am enjoying.  Maybe I will post both… no one knows until tomorrow night 🙂

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Lava and Plumeria, Textured

Leave a Reply

