Sky and Sea HDR

This is another shot from the same morning “Waimea Bay Sunrise” was taken.  Literally, this was probably shot about 5 minutes after that one, aiming the camera north instead of east.  The HDR came out startlingly different, though, which is one thing I LOVE about HDR images.  Here you can see the clouds have a classic HDR look, really otherworldly.  I also like the warmth of this photo, and the gentle colors rather than the bright sunrise sky in WBS.  Just a difference in the processing, and the slight change that a few minutes can make in a Hawaiian sunrise.  I swear, I had to be on it to catch good colors in the sunrises there, they came and went so fast!  I had forgotten that aspect of being at sea level with a flat horizon.

I really like how this photo came out, the sky got smoothed a bit and I had to do some mixing of layers in Photoshop, which is a fun place to practice my art and make the photo mine!  I know I used Topaz Adjust here, and I am also sure I used Noiseware Professional.  I have submitted this image to www.hdrspotting.com, hopefully it will show on their pages soon.  You can find it in www.kelleybard.com/hawaii as well.

Tomorrow and for the next few days I have some great images lined up, including a remake of an old favorite of people’s, and more Hawaiian pictures.  I’ve got some personal favs coming up too.  So come back and see my work in action on this daily photo blog!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Sky and Sea HDR

Leave a Reply

