White Ginger, Textured

This is a white ginger blossom, photographed on the North Shore of Oahu early in the morning, after a nice, soft, tropical rain.  I love these flowers but felt a bit ambivalent about this photo, until I decided to start adding some textures and get a bit of excitement into the rather blah background.  I liked the picture much more after the addition of textures.  I removed much of the texture from the flower, but left a bit- it helped to outline the raindrops a bit.

This photo went from Lightroom into Photoshop for the added textures.  I used a few textures from Trey Ratcliff (bought along with his textures tutorial at stuckincustoms.com).  I also used some textures which I picked up in Hawaii- several rock and moss hi-res images which I shot there. It felt right to use Hawaiian textures on a Hawaiian plant!  After adding the textures I sharpened the image slightly then returned it to Lightroom for final color tweaks.  A fairly simple edit, really.

You can’t smell this flower but the scent is heavenly.

Shown at www.kelleybard.com in the textured collection and in my flowers gallery.  Enjoy the rest of my work.

Some more Hawaiian photos are coming, but I am almost to the end of favorites from there, so I will be branching out again with my usual mix of photos.  I also have a few good portraits coming up.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

