Variety Day! Several shots to ponder over weekend.

I will be gone all weekend, so in honor of that, here are several finished shots that I have been saving up… Some new, some redone.  Enjoy!

Vietnam Wall Memories, Revamped

Moon Over Kaena Point

Mother Gravestone, Revamped

Sunset Durango, Vivid

2 bright, 2 desaturated, 2 new, 2 old, all HDR…  Something to ponder.  Here’s the scoop on all of these-

I’ve learned a lot since I started working with Photoshop, and “Vietnam Wall Memories, Revamped” is proof.  I liked the original so much that I totally ignored the oversharpening that I had done.  There were several visible problems that had come out of the double tone-mapping and sharpening, so I redid the photo with a more gentle approach.  You can see this photo in an early post if you want to compare.  I still like the overall look of the first photo but the noise and damage was too much!

“Moon Over Kaena Point” is a new photo from my Hawaii trip.  I don’t do a lot of portrait size images(vertical setting) but this one works with that sizing.  I love the full moon setting over the Northwestern point of Oahu- I got this pic while on an early morning photo drive and just loved the colors in the clouds.  Processed in Photomatix as an HDR, plus some Topaz Adjust in Photoshop really brought it all together.  I finished, as almost always, with Noiseware Professional.

“Mother Gravestone, Revamped” is getting TONS of views currently on HDRspotting.com, and I’m glad I redid it.  It is an image that I took in the Bayfield, CO cemetery after my very first infant photo session- from life to death.  The original had some overblown highlights that at the time I didn’t know how to fix.  I took that image and mixed it in Photoshop with the middle original picture, which calmed down some of the background.  The rest of the photo is pretty much how the original looked.  Love it!

“Sunset Durango, Vivid” came about after an exquisite sunset near my home.  I processed the HDR as a very restrained HDR in Photomatix.  I then took the .tif into Photoshop and really ramped up the colors- I’m sorry to say that the original images did not look so vivid!  After I brought the colors to the point I enjoyed it, I removed the noise with Noiseware Pro and put the image into Lightroom for some final color tweaks.  If anything, I wouldn’t mind removing some of the orange and yellows from around the mountain tops… but I couldn’t do that on a photo wide scale and that was what was available in Lightroom.  I was feeling a bit lazy, so I capitulated and decided I liked the oranges and yellows enough 🙂 LOL.

I will be back Sunday or Monday.  Enjoy these photos until then!  Come back and see my next postings- I’m going on a great drive through Colorado and will be bringing my camera, so expect some new photos when I return.

See these and many other photos of mine on www.kelleybard.com.  Most of these are in my “Places” gallery, if you are looking for specific works.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

