Tubing the Colorado

Tubing the Colorado

This is a bit different than most of my images… an almost off the cuff photo taken while standing on the pedestrian bridge over the Colorado River in Glenwood Springs, CO.  I was enjoying the late afternoon sun and the sunset colors, looking for possible photo opportunities, when I saw these two people passing under the bridge.  I had about 10 seconds before they disappeared under the main bridge, gone forever into the sunset.  I snapped off a few quick photos, just as they floated on.  Although the photo isn’t the best technical photo I’ve ever done, it would have been pretty hard to get an image of that water without the blown-out highlights.  I like the golden glow to the water, myself.  Plus the absolute silhouette shadows that are the two people floating serenely away.

For the technical side, I did very little with this image.  I had to crop it quite a bit, to get the people in a decent spot in the photo and at an appropriate size for the photo.  I warmed up the photo’s color just slightly, and tried my best to keep from messing with the picture as a whole much more, as I didn’t want to cause any noise or color aberrations.  It’s a nice image of a relaxed, candid moment.  I love working on my candid shots, don’t you?

You can find this image on my flickr page- here.  If you like my work, consider seeing it large at my website, which is much better than flickr for views.  www.kelleybard.com.  Enjoy!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

