Sideways Waterfall and Website News

Sideways Waterfall

This is a black and white image of a little waterfall I encountered in the San Juan Mountains of Colorado, between Ouray and Silverton.  I stopped to take a few photos at this small river that snakes through the canyon south of Ouray.  The river is quite amazing- being that it was prime mining land, and often what was being mined for was gold, the bright yellows of the river and of the water bring suspicions that the water is filled with gold.  I turned this particular image into a black and white, but I should have a good color image in the near future.  Sometimes all those bright colors can get distracting in an image, you know?

I tried to get a bit of a blur here in the water, and I think the photo succeeds in that goal.  I also worked hard to get the whole scale of shades here- from black to white, without getting blown out highlights or black, black shadows.  Ansel Adams would be proud (or does that sound way, way conceited?  Ansel Adams probably wouldn’t care. Lol.)  I often try to span the scale of colors, in most of my photos, but there are always exceptions…. not this photo, though.  Anyways, the original water blur was actually cleaned up a bit in Photoshop, and in the settings that I chose to use in Topaz Adjust.  I really like how it came out.  I also used Noiseware Professional to finish the look.  One thing I like about the finished product is that it would be a great square crop or 8×10 crop… many of my images seem to stretch out and fill the whole view, and a crop of them would lose something necessary.  But this one would crop quite nicely, I think.

I have this at my website, www.kelleybard.com.  The image is found exactly here.  My website news is that **I have been reworking my galleries and many of my images have found new homes as my galleries and portfolios have been removed**.  This doesn’t mean that any photos have been removed… YET.  (Cue disturbing, scary movie music).  But soon I will be tackling that side of the website.  Right now I have just been condensing my galleries.  Many of my photo collections can be found under easy to understand names… i.e. www.kelleybard.com/places, or www.kelleybard.com/children.  My latest work is located in various galleries (places, water, etc) and collected together in the Colorado collection.  Check out all of my varied work, please!  If you have a favorite, feel free to share it with me (mark it as a fav then send fav’s from my website to me when you are done).  It may save your photo from removal (more scary movie music here)!!

Ok, other than the website changes, anything else new?  Well, yes.  I was asked if I would allow one of my photos to be used in a magazine today!  I will have more info as the deal progresses, but it is more of a chance to have this opportunity than anything, and I am grateful for it.  I am very, very excited and honored about it all.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

