WWII Memorial Sunset

WWII Memorial Sunset

I took this photo at the World War II Memorial on the National Mall in Washington, D.C.  It was my first visit to this beautiful memorial and I was enjoying the crowds, the fountains, the sheer size of it all.  It really impresses you with how large the war was, how many countries, states and people were involved.  It was a solemn time, exploring the memorial, but not sad, as the crowd and the sunset were too exuberant to keep my spirits low.  I set up here where I could see the amazing sun rays from behind this cloud, and took 3 shots for the HDR image.

Processing was fairly simple- I took my time in Photomatix, to get the right approach to the photo.  I ended up with some blurred people but no ghosting.  I also had to mix one of the originals with the HDR shot in Photoshop, to remove the most glaring of the burned out cloud overhead.  Otherwise it was fairly easy.  I used Noiseware to smooth the clouds in the end, and had a light touch in Lightroom to finish it all.  I had been holding onto this photo for a while… feels good to finish it.

Enjoy my work at www.kelleybard.com.  I’ve posted this in the Washington, D.C. collection and also in “Places and Landscapes”.

I’ll be back tomorrow with another photo… I hope you will also return, to see more of my work.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

