Mining Cabin Red Mountain

Mining Cabin Red Mountain

I came across this spot while driving through the San Juan Mountains of Colorado, between Silverton and Ouray.  This mine is near Red Mountain (hence the name) and surrounded by beautiful, high altitude vistas.  I bet that in all the times I have passed this, I’ve barely given it a glance.  But this time, for some reason, it caught my eye and I stopped.  Next time, I should go through the door of the mine and explore a bit more.  But for this shoot, I had plenty to explore outside.  I love this crushed cabin, the texture of the wood on the mine entrance, the cutely carved aspens surrounded by the decay and devastation of time and weather.  The acid green muck stream in front of the cabin.  There are many things to enjoy in this image, I hope that you take your time to check it out!

Processing this was a bit painstaking, but hopefully worth my while.  I enjoyed it overall.  I put the 3 original images through Photomatix to start.  Once I had the HDR I moved it to Photoshop for tweaking and playing.  I put the photo through Topaz Adjust, which gave me some sharpness and some nice contrast and color.  I then put the image through Noiseware Professional which allowed me to clean up the digital noise left over from the HDR process.  I also had to go over the image piece by piece to clean up any additional noise.  I chose to let several areas appear slightly noisy, to keep their sharpness.  So I did a lot of masking to remove Noiseware Pro’s effects from sections.  I finished with some cleanup cloning, blurring, and a slight desaturation, courtesy of Photoshop.  A final trip through Lightroom and it was ready to go!

This photo is available at larger size and higher res on my website, www.kelleybard.com, in the “Places” gallery.  It’s also on flickr and was submitted to HDRspotting.com.  Check these sites out if you like this type of photography!

Enjoy my work and come back for more, I show a photo a day and like to find variety in my images and how they are processed- which means you will see lots of different, beautiful images here.  So return soon.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

