Miners Window- 2 versions comparing Topaz DeNoise and Noiseware Professional

Miner's Window Using Topaz DeNoise

Miner's Window Using Noiseware Professional

This is something I wouldn’t normally do- show a photo I don’t like completely.  I’m not putting this on my website, just because I don’t like the skewed perspective with the window and paneling.  It didn’t work.  Hopefully soon I will return to this spot and get a good photo.  BUT, I wanted desperately to show 2 versions of the same photo to compare Noiseware Pro and Topaz DeNoise, which I am currently testing.

Version with Topaz DeNoise:  I had to add some color changing to the mix with this one, and a bit more brightness removal due to the processing.  It did a pretty decent job of removing noise without removing detail, although you can see a bit of noise still around with this version.  I also added some clarity to bring out textures that had been lost with the processing.  Still a bit of a blur but I think it is more even… maybe.

Version with Imagenomic’s Noiseware Professional:  I did process it slightly different, with more masking and a bit more clarity added.  Most of the time, Noiseware does a good job.  But sometimes, like here,  Noiseware does uneven noise reduction.  I had to do a lot of fixing and I still think it looks a bit blurry.  There is more color haloing too around some of the white paint.

My thoughts: Overall, it’s hard to see much difference in these small shots, but I do think that Topaz DeNoise actually did a better job.  I own Noiseware Professional and my one gripe has been that sometimes there is very uneven noise reduction.  Topaz didn’t seem to have that problem.  There were still some problems and I wish there was a perfect solution out there… perhaps in the future.  But for now, I think I will be looking into DeNoise!

See more of my work at www.kelleybard.com.  Noiseware Professional is found at www.imagenomic.com.  Topaz DeNoise can be found at www.topazlabs.com.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

