Silverton Mine Building (Another Silver Efex Pro Test) & Upcoming Events

Silverton Mine Building

This is right off the road, Hwy 550 between Silverton, CO and Ouray, CO.  It’s an amazing stretch of road for beautiful sights and amazing views.  I’ve always seen this, stopped a few times, but never taken the tripod out and tried to do a serious photo.  This time, I did.  This is an HDR (High Dynamic Range image) which came from combining 3 different exposures of the same scene to get light into the shadows and keep the highlights from taking over the photo.  I also did quite a bit of creative processing with this, starting with the HDR processing itself (double tone processed for some otherworldly oversmoothing of the trash and to get full detail in the wood and trees), then put into Photoshop and played with in Topaz Adjust, Noiseware Professional and finally in Nik Silver Efex Pro.  I really like the final image, although it had a large amount of digital noise that wasn’t removed with Noiseware and so I had to go through manually and blur out the offending pixels.  If anyone has a better way to deal with digital noise, I’m all ears!  I’m in the process of testing Topaz DeNoise and so far I like it a lot.  But back to this processing and this test….

Nik Silver Efex Pro does a great job of turning the photo into a black and white image.  I especially love how the trees came out, and the building itself.  What Nik software does is make the photo beautiful, almost effortlessly.  I think I could play around with it, adjusting contrast, saturation, etc, and get pretty close to this final image, but it’s a lot easier if Nik does it.  And so far every image has come out well.  A few of the settings seem very well tuned for HDR images, too, perhaps because Nik is coming out with or just came out with their own HDR software?  Whatever the reason, I like the result.

This is located at www.kelleybard.com/places.  Enjoy all of my work, the best of it is shown on my website.  If you enjoy HDR images or want to explore them more, www.kelleybard.com/HDR has a good mix of my work in that style.  www.stuckincustoms.com is also a great spot to view, Trey Ratcliff is a pioneer in that style of photos.

I post a photo a day here, and mix them up dramatically.  Come back again and see what else I’m working on!

EVENTS:

I’m trying to get a Durango Shooters Photo Walk together, probably Sept 25 or 26th to view the fabulous fall foliage.  More on that later.

Currently I’m planning on dragging the camera to 2 events this weekend-

The Durango Fall Art Walk on Main Ave. Friday night and the “Dancing in the Light: The Inner Photographic Journey” workshop held over the weekend at the Rocky Mountain Retreat Center.  Contact rbridgesimages@gmail.com if you are interested in that.  I’m not 100% certain that I will be able to go, but it sounds wonderful!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Silverton Mine Building (Another Silver Efex Pro Test) & Upcoming Events

Leave a Reply

