The Beaver Pond

The Beaver Pond

This is a photo taken while driving from SW Colorado to Glenwood Springs, CO.  I took a small, country road much of the way, and made enough time that I could stop and photograph along the way.  I found this little gem near the top of a pass, with great views on all sides.  This pond was nestled in the crook of two mountains.  I processed it as an HDR, to get some depth to the light shown throughout the image.  I really like how the Photomatix process softens up plants and trees, at the same time giving them a slight otherworldly look.  This particular photo was very beautiful in single images, so I did mask in a lot of the trees and plants at about 40%.  The HDR process also had turned the log dam into a more purply color, so I brought that back strongly with masking.  I adjusted the colors slightly but mostly this is the result of the HDR process.  I also used Topaz Define, which I’m testing, to denoise the image- which I think it did slightly smoother and clearer than Noiseware Professional does.  I still like Noiseware Pro for a lot of work, but I have to say that Topaz DeNoise is working pretty well for me, and I will probably purchase it.  Maybe even use it as my primary noise remover.

I’ll be posting this image to HDRspotting.com, which is one of my favorite pages to go to obsessively at 3 am.  I have been known to curse them out repeatedly for not updating their photos every hour.  I could probably work on that side of my personality, but it’s so fun to have around when I’m bored 🙂

This will also end up on my website, www.kelleybard.com/places.  And I’ll add it to my flickr page, my facebook page… yadda yadda yadda.  You know the drill!

I didn’t end up getting to go to a photo workshop this weekend, but I did spend some time searching out good photo spots around me.  Is it weird that my first free moment I’m running off to the cemetery or to check out some abandoned buildings??  BTW, anyone know the legalities with shooting photos in abandoned buildings?  I sorta guess it’s trespassing if I go in, although who would care, right?  I should find that out before exploring too much more though.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

