Haviland Lake Reflections After the Storm and more on the Drawing for a Free Print

Haviland Lake Reflections After the Storm

I took this photo this week… drove up into the mountains to see what sort of fall foliage was happening.  Apparently not much yet (lol)… but I’ve *heard* that you can find beautiful aspens at higher elevations.  This is about 8000 feet so you are talking REALLY high altitude for the good fall colors.  In a week or so, I’ll go again and see a totally different photo.

Anyways, I’ve never explored this lake before.  Heard about it but not taken the time to drive to it.  All 5 minutes off the main road.  And it was beautiful!  I was pretty much alone there, and I got to enjoy the beauty.  About 30 minutes after I arrived, a short storm blew through.  Some rain fell and then it cleared up again.  This was taken as soon as the rain ended (in fact, the white part of the lake near the far shore might still be rain falling).  I took my usual 3 exposures and got lucky with a beautiful HDR image.  The sky and the bottom reeds and cloud reflections were superimposed on the HDR by using one of the original shots, though.  I then cleaned up the entire image with Topaz DeNoise (heavy masking on that as well, as parts needed more smoothing than others).  I played with the hues and saturation until the entire photo felt right.  One thing I really like is how the shape of the reeds is similar to the shape of the mountain top… that struck me as soon as I took the images.  I had to keep the reeds in the photo after that!

This photo is located on my website at www.kelleybard.com/places.  I’ll be sending it to HDRspotting.com as well, and various other places on the web.  Enjoy it!

**Update on the drawing for a free print** I’ll be taking interested persons info for the drawing for the free 11×14 print until the end of September.  Let me know if you are interested, it’s minimal work on your part and you may very well end up with a photo of mine!  Everyone who enters will get a discount to use on further images of mine, as well, so you can’t lose!  After the drawing is over, I’m going to start selling limited edition giclée prints of my work, and I have a few other holiday themed gifts and offers for everyone, so please keep up with me or check the home page of my site at www.kelleybard.com for new info!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Haviland Lake Reflections After the Storm and more on the Drawing for a Free Print

Leave a Reply

