Into The Sky

Into The Sky

I got lucky with this photo.  I was driving south from Colorado Springs on I-25 last week, and saw the sky forming these amazing clouds with great sun rays coming through them.  I was near some farm roads so I took an offramp and started exploring, looking for a good shot.  I liked how this hill ended with the cloud view above it, so I grabbed my camera and did a few handheld shots of it.  As I was playing with different views, these two girls rode by, riding slowly, with 2 dogs.  They headed up the hill and I braced myself for a chance to get a few quick shots.  As they reached the top, I fired off the 3 exposures needed for HDR (High Dynamic Range Imaging).  I knew, with the sun in the position it was, that the foreground would be too dark without an HDR image.  With the HDR image, I could pick and choose how I wanted the foliage and road and girls to look.  I did replace the girls with their images in the darker version of the photo, though… I liked the silhouette look so much!  I also added some warming tones with a filter in Photoshop, picking up the autumn colors and warming the desaturated sky.  Other than those things, I did more cloning and removing of items in this photo that usual- I took one of the dogs out, and all of the road trash that was on the side of the road (this was the road to the local landfill, so there was a lot of trash blown around!).

This photo has been sitting all day on the featured page of HDRspotting.com, which is exciting.  I’m looking forward to seeing how many visits it got once I see the stats for today!  I’ve had a few photos featured there, and it’s always an honor… HDRspotting.com is truly the best place I’ve found for viewing quality HDR images from around the world.  If you get a chance, check it out.  You can see some beautiful HDR there, and often in better quality than on flickr.

Speaking of flickr, I’ve also been getting lots of hits and awards with this photo there, too!  I’ve been a slight bit obsessed with flickr lately, and I’ve been adding this photo to a lot of flickr groups to see others reactions.  (That’s how you get hits, too, I’ve decided.  Adding to lots and lots of groups.  Which allows me to see some other amazing artwork, so it’s isn’t too bad).  So far, almost uniformly positive.  Which is awfully nice.  I love the constructive criticism too, though, so bring it on if you got it!

I’m also listing this on my website, Kelleybard.com.  If you go there, you can enjoy all of my quality artwork- I make sure to post images that get attention here, or in other spots on the web.  I love comments there as well (hint, hint!).

Thanks for viewing this, and enjoy!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Into The Sky

Leave a Reply

