Fairy and Sky and Halloween Plans

Fairy and Sky

I don’t often post photos of my kids here.  And I’ve never taken a “people HDR” before.  But this one just seemed so necessary and so perfect, I had to take the shot.  Since I processed it tonight, I feel like I have to share it!  I’m loving it (and so are people on flickr, where this pic immediately racked up a bunch of award postings!).  A good sign of things to come.

Anyways, I took my pre-schooler to her school halloween party today.  On the way there, I was admiring the sky.  Slobbering over it, actually.  Lately I’ve been fully obsessed with skies.  The clouds in SW Colorado in fall are the best all year, I’ve decided.  High, cottony, perfect for the HDR look I love… beautiful.  So when we arrived at the party, I made her pose for me for a quick set of images to turn into an HDR later.  It was handheld, messy, and it’s impossible to get a pre-schooler to stand still for even a second.  But somehow it all worked out in the processing.  I did do a lot of photoshop tweaks after the original HDR processing in photomatix pro 4.  I think the most intense change was replacing the tree limbs with some from one of the original photos, to reduce the HDR look to them.  I also desaturated the sky a lot and put a black and white look with a red filter on it over the sky part of the photo, trying to really darken the blue part of the sky.  I think it worked.  I see a bit of a halo around the wing, and some noise around her hair… I may have to go back and fix those so they don’t bug me any more.  But overall I’m really happy with this.

Posted on www.kelleybard.com/hdr, my HDR portfolio on my website.  Look around my site if you wish!

Enjoy my work and my blog.

**On Halloween, I’ll be wandering around with my camera.  Taking pics of unique costumes and working on my candid people shots.  Maybe I’ll see you?

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

