Broken Down Virginia Pier, and what do you think of the new photo sizes?

First of all, this is an unusual take on a photo for me.  I usually don’t like graininess in my images, and use noiseware often to remove it.  I like the images to look as good in large sizes as small, and I tend to think that grain makes the larger images not as “clean”.  But this photo really seemed to need it, and looks better for a little added grain and noise.

I saw this pier in a small lake off a stream in Southern Virginia, when I was on my way to Virginia Beach.  I was taking my time driving some country roads, and I was finding out that this section of Virginia is riddled with waterways.  I had just been stopped at a cute little drawbridge when I saw this off to the side… as soon as the boat moved through and the cars started moving again, I pulled over to look at this.  The colors and contrast in camera didn’t do the scene justice, and I had actually sat with the image in my computer for a few months while I tried to figure out where I wanted to go with it.  Finally the grainy/black and white/contrasty look seemed to be the best idea.  I played with the image in photoshop and with Topaz Adjust until I got the right look.

Enjoy this, I’ve also posted this in my daily photos on facebook and on my website at www.kelleybard.com.  Feel free to explore my art more in either of those venues!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Broken Down Virginia Pier, and what do you think of the new photo sizes?

Leave a Reply

