Palace of Fine Arts- 2 views

So… I originally finished this photo as the top view, and was pretty happy with it, except for the sky desaturation areas.  It came out patchy, which I didn’t like.  I was thinking about it all day, in preparation for posting tonight, and finally thought about just going into Photoshop and painting the blue in.  It removed a lot of the definition in the sky, but as it already looked like a painting, I don’t think I missed much out of it.  Plus, I think it made the buildings look just a bit whiter.  I liked the second view enough to post that one to flickr and remove the original one.  I’ll do the same with my website, www.kelleybard.com.

Anyways, this is one of my favorite sites in San Francisco and when I visited there in December (8 hours in the city, with my kids, and I was so excited!), I definitely went here.  It helps that the building adjacent to the Palace of Fine Arts houses the best kids science museum in the world. We visited there, I tired out my kids, then drove by the Palace for a quick photo shot.  This is an HDR, which means that I took several exposures of the same scene (with my tripod, so the photos are exactly the same) then combined them in my computer.  Sometimes, in the program Photomatix Pro that I use, unusual things happen.  This image got some incredible glowy sections, which got me started on the final processing look for the photo.  I desaturated it, added lots of textures to make it subtly more ancient looking, and generally had fun.  I really like how the image ended up.

What do you think?

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Palace of Fine Arts- 2 views

Leave a Reply

