Eternal Flame

This photo was taken at the gravesite of John F. Kennedy, in Arlington Cemetery, Washington, D.C.  I first went to Arlington when I was 13 and was really struck by it.  Recently, a favorite photographer of mine posted some photos from Arlington and my desire to go again was rekindled.  On a convenient trip to visit family in N. Virginia, I took an afternoon and wandered with my camera and tripod.  The amount of graves there is really astounding, and the solemnity is impressive.  I will probably have more photos from this day to publish as the time goes on.  I happened to be there on the eve of some book being published about JFK’s death, so this area was more busy than usual, with CNN reporters and the like.  That was exciting, but I wanted to contemplate it quietly, so I waited until the area had thinned of people before shooting my image.  I could, also, have moved a bit to the side so the lines wouldn’t be diagonal, but I liked this view too.  I desaturated most everything except the flame, and increased the contrast a bunch on the background.

One thing- I rarely if ever add deliberate blur to photos.  To me, it just doesn’t look good in most situations.  For this, though, I thought and thought and finally added it… and liked it.  What do you think?  I tried my hardest to both keep the flame and base in focus, and to make it a smooth transition from blur to focus.  How did I do?  Love to get responses on that, or on your general take of blurred images.

I will also post this to flickr and facebook… depending on the responses there, I may post it to my website.

Enjoy!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Eternal Flame

Leave a Reply

