Finally, a Colorado Pic! Coke Ovens of the Shire

I’ve been feeling a bit wrong about not posting any Colorado pics yet this year… I mean, it is my state, and a beautiful one too… so here is my first.  Found in my archives, from a drive I took last year through Colorado’s wilder areas.  I wish I remembered the town this was outside of, but it was on the road between Delta and Glenwood Springs, if that helps.  These appeared on the side of the road, apparently a large area designated for cooking coal, or coke, in ovens from nearby coal mines.  This photo doesn’t show half of the broken ovens… there were quite a lot.  I played with the processing a bit (hence the dark sky, which I like) and used HDR (I almost always take 3 photos at a time with different exposures, just so I can do an HDR image if it seems like the best presentation).  The HDR is the only reason you can see into the ovens, as they were black in the sun!

Posted at http://www.kelleybard.com/places.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Finally, a Colorado Pic! Coke Ovens of the Shire

Leave a Reply

