Coke Oven

I found this little interesting section of Colorado while on a photo expedition drive down some country roads, between Delta and Carbondale.  There were some amazing vistas there, and in one of the valleys, I saw… this.  Maybe as many as a hundred of them.  There was a sign (see my earlier post “Coke Ovens of the Shire” for a view of many of them) that explained that they were coke ovens, somehow used in the processing of coal.  All I knew was they were INTERESTING.  I used HDR and 3 combined images to get this one, so that the shadows inside the oven would be visible.  This is also posted to my flickr page (www.flickr.com/photos/kelleybardphotography).  After the main HDR processing, I was left with several choices on how to finish it.  I decided to remove much of the green and yellow in the image, lighten up the bricks to white, and explore the darkened sky and rust colored dirt a bit… I hope you enjoy the image.  I know it goes against one of my favorite teachers ideas that photos should stick to one major color group at a time… but sometimes breaking the rules has a good enough result to justify it!  BTW, that teacher, who has taught me much about HDR, composition and processing, is Trey Ratcliff, and you can see his work at http://www.stuckincustoms.com. Stop by there, it’s worth it!

Enjoy!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Coke Oven

Leave a Reply

