Hawaiian Magnolia & Upcoming Images, News

This photo was taken early one morning in Hawaii.  It was one of my last days there, and I knew from before I had even arrived that I wanted to shoot in this area.  It’s called the Valley of the Temples, and it’s an amazingly beautiful area near Kaneohe, on Oahu.  I had been there often before, but this time I was bringing my camera…  Well, I arrived shortly after sunrise, having spent the sunrise time watching and shooting the filming of “Pirates of the Caribbean: 3” (which I have posted an image of, and will post another one soon).  When I arrived at this valley, which is also a large cemetery, my main plan got derailed.  I was really hoping to shoot at the Buddhist temple in the valley, but it was not open for several more hours.  I tried my best to charm the local guy manning the gate, and he reluctantly allowed me into the main cemetery area to shoot some there.  I was told that if I was a professional photographer, I would have to pay extra anyways to take photos at the temple (alert! to anyone who tries to go there with a nice camera and tripod).

So these sheer hillsides and the morning fog really called to me, and I set up for several fun shots.  This one was one of my favorite, as I rarely have the patience to wait for a great image… but this one was worth it.  I saw the sunline creeping down the branches and knew that I could wait just a few minutes and catch the first open flower in the morning light if I just sat… I waited and was rewarded with this.

Post processing was basically just cleaning up the image a bit, lightening the browns in the undersides of the leaves and making sure that you could see as much mountain as possible through the fog.

As always, I love to hear comments on my photos, feel free to speak up!

Daily photos are posted on my facebook and flickr pages, and exceptional images from those are added to my website at http://www.kelleybard.com.  If you want to see all my work without my blabber, check that out!

*Upcoming news: I’ll be trying out some new photo filters, etc from various companies in the near future, keep your eyes open for reviews and test runs on photos!

Enjoy.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Hawaiian Magnolia & Upcoming Images, News

Leave a Reply

