Half Dome from Bridge, Calm (first of 2 versions of photo)

Classic photo of Half-Dome… I had to try my hand at it.  This is from a bridge across the Merced River, which gives you the perfect image of Half Dome.  That day, and every day I was in Yosemite Valley on this trip, there was this heavy ground fog as well.  I really like how it made the image come out.

Photo is an HDR from 3 different exposures, all taken with tripod and processed in Photomatix Pro 4.  I then did some shifting and cleaning up in Photoshop.  I tried a different approach today, usually I remove all the noise and significantly soften the image, but after a Nik Software landscape class this morning, I decided to leave the image with a bit more noise and do more sharpening as well.  I have stayed away from sharpening in many of my images and perhaps they have suffered a bit… any thoughts from out there on this conundrum?

I’ll review the Nik class in the near future, but in short, it was a good one!

Oh, black and white because of the Ansel Adams fan in me.  I literally can’t see a photo of Half Dome in color, it just doesn’t work for me.  I did apply a blue filter to this, to bring out the glow in the white snow.  It adds a nice mood, I think.

The other version is a bit more noisy and a bit more contrasty… more of your classic HDR I think… I’ll post it tomorrow, so come back!

This will go to flickr and facebook and my website:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kelleybardphotography

facebook has a link off this page

website: http://www.kelleybard.com.

Love your comments, especially after tomorrows version is posted!

Enjoy.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

4 responses to “Half Dome from Bridge, Calm (first of 2 versions of photo)

Leave a Reply

