Lighting Tests- Orange Still Lifes. Life’s? Lives?

Ok, and now onto what may be my least exciting post ever (and no, I don’t need people to fight me on that one and point out more boring posts, thanks).  Actually, this was a necessary photo test series for me to do, I’m working through some strobist.com ideas and also some lighting thoughts that I picked up from diyphotography.com… both great sites for photographers who want to get a workable solution for lighting and such without breaking the bank.

Obviously, I was testing different lighting setups here.  The soft light up top was created by a farther away light, the hard light below was the same light but much closer relative to the orange.  The oranges?  An easy and quick thing to photograph.

The lighting was CFL’s but in the soft white light form… I recently picked up a 100w CFL in ‘daylight’ and it seems like a well white-balanced light, and bright enough for portraiture.

For tomorrow: Another “regular” picture of mine, plus my thoughts/review of the Nik software class I attended online Tues morning!

Thanks for stopping in.  Www.kelleybard.com is where you can find my artwork.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

