Child Holding Candle and New Inspirations!

Today was a great day for a photographer… not that I had the best light, the best sky, or even tons of time, but I had the joy of taking photos again. I have been feeling very experimental and open with ideas lately, and this photo expresses that learning feeling that I have inside. It’s a good place to be, to be willing to listen and learn and search for answers.  I saw several amazing images on another photographers site (Chris Giles at http://www.chrisgilesphoto.com), and they (along with other spots) started me on the path to learning again.  So I’m glad that I took a few precious moments in the last few days to try new techniques and think about composition and work out some problems in my photography.

This is just one of those experimental photos, but I was wondering how candle light worked in photos, and what f-stops and such I would need to use, and decided to test it.  It was fun and came up with a nice result… and I’m happy I did it.  I also did some frost photos today which I’ve been dying to take (I’ll post some in a later blog posting) and a professional portrait for a friend and his animal… which was a first.  So lots of new ideas floating around.

Feel free to stop by again and see my learning curve keep growing as I experiment more with this great art form!

Posted also to my facebook, flickr and website pages (direct links on the top left of this page).  Enjoy!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

