Ice Crystals on Flowers… Starting a Series of Images

Along with my new excitement for photography (that may be an exaggeration, as lots of things I say are, but see yesterday’s post if you are confused and care to know more), I took some fantastic ice images recently.  I have been hoping for a good frost day to catch some of these amazing crystal structures, and finally got one where I could head out with my camera and shoot them.  I took several images I liked, but this was one of my favorites.  I love how the background blurred so beautifully (helped minimally with some noiseware in photoshop and a bit of creative painting of shades of color).  I’ll be sharing the images over the next week or so, and once I have all of them published I’ll post them all together for ease of viewing.

This is actually an HDR.  All of the photos I processed were similar- ice, plants, crystals, desaturated colors, HDR.  I am not sure what the HDR process did for this, I was afraid that it would soften the crystal structures but it didn’t seem to cause any loss there.  Anyways, the tone mapping in Photomatix always helps with defining backgrounds vs foregrounds and such, so I think these images came out better for it.

I posted this to my website, http://www.kelleybard.com.  Also to my flickr and facebook pages.  I’m interested in comments and feelings on these, I really like the shots!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

