Backlit Horse in Snow


 

Here is my favorite love/hate image of the week. Earlier this week, we had our first snowfall in about a month. That, combined with the frigid temps, made this image possible. I was shooting early in the day, and was able to catch this horse on his own, with the sun rising behind him, covered with snow still and breathing steam. I LOVE the concept, and even love how the photo came out (I processed it as an HDR with 3 exposures and it makes his coat seem that much more textured with the snow). Unfortunately, the HDR process gives me a look that I love in the trees and such, but noise that I HATE. Grr. I think, although I do really like this shot, that I will try to reprocess it and bring in the main original image for the background and such. I would also love to have been closer, believe me, I’m kicking myself that I didn’t hop the fence and try to get a better image. Next week we are supposed to get more snow, and I’m really considering trying to recreate this image then. Whatever happens, I will tell you guys all about it!

It looks like my exciting news will be coming true, so I’ll tell more about it next week. Seems like I will have images represented in 2 main women/children centers in Durango, though, which will hopefully help me get more business doing maternity and infant portraits (which I love!).

See more of my work at http://www.kelleybard.com. I’m in a “cutting room floor” kind of mood, so I’ll be heading there in about an hour and removing some photos that no longer really represent me and my styles… check it before or after to see what went and what stayed!

Enjoy, as always.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “Backlit Horse in Snow

Leave a Reply

