2 Versions of 1 HDR… First- Uprooted, 1 Toned

I saw this tree a week or so ago on the side of the road and swore that I would be back at some sunset to take photos of it. My original idea for the shot was to get very close to the roots and get them in focus with everything else out of focus. I need a wider lenses to make that shot happen, though- even at 24 mm I couldn’t make the image I liked. So I stepped back a bit and got this shot… which I really like as well.

HDR is High Dynamic Range imaging, a process where you take several images of the same scene at different exposures and combine them in a computer program. I use Photomatix Pro 4, but others are getting decent/good results out of Nik HDR Efex Pro and Photoshop CS5. I used it for this and for tomorrow’s image, to get depth and texture in the shadows, highlights, tree limbs, etc. I developed each image similarily, with only a few changes. This one was single toned, which means it was put through tone mapping one time (resulting in more natural look and less noise to clean up later). I also wanted to bring up the warmth of the day I shot this… late afternoon as the sun was setting, and I wanted that warm color here, too, so I added a warming photo filter. The image tomorrow is decidedly cooler, and a bit more otherworldly and dark as a result of the double toning. When it comes up, I would love to hear some comments on what you like/don’t like about each image!

Posted to my website (www.kelleybard.com) as well as flickr and facebook. Enjoy all my images and have a great weekend!

*Next week, I’ll be posting some images from my recent testing of OnOne Softwares PhotoTools 2.6… keep coming back to view them and judge for yourself whether it’s worth the use!*

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

