2nd of 2 Versions of Image… Uprooted, 2 Toned

So, this is yesterdays image, but double tone mapped in Photomatix Pro 4 and without the warming filter applied to yesterdays shot. I just thought it would be nice to compare what double toning does… although it’s a bit different applied here rather than to a landscape or city shot, I think. Double toning seems to add more contrast, and to get a bit more of the other-worldly look to my images. I rarely do it, usually because it adds a ton more noise to deal with later. It adds nice texture to woods, and such, which is why I wanted to try it here. I can’t really explain my settings in tone mapping, because I change them with every image, but usually I have luminance up, micro contrast all the way up, I change around the smoothing but I often try to have micro smoothing as low as the image will take, and I play with all the other settings wildly. I always have the strength at 100, though. In double toning, I will bring the color saturation down a bit and usually go for more “normal” looking smoothing and micro smoothing (more to the right for both)- especially if I have already had it set low for the first time through Photomatix.

Here’s yesterdays shot:

Love to hear comments on these, and what you like/don’t like about either. I can’t decide which I like better, myself. See more of my work at http://www.kelleybard.com, or on flickr or facebook.

*NEWS*

So exciting, this weekend has been the annual Snowdown celebration in my town and I’ve been out with my camera the past few days. In the next few days, I’ll show some fun shots from the light parade last night, and some images from the hot air balloon event today. I froze my butt off for those, so they better be good! I’ll also be posting my February deal on flickr, facebook and buzztown soon, so “like” Kelley Bard Photography there if you haven’t already to hear about it!

Enjoy a great weekend!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

2 responses to “2nd of 2 Versions of Image… Uprooted, 2 Toned

Leave a Reply

