Pink Flower in HDR, Mac Woes…

Most of the time, I think HDR looks best when it’s subtle… just adding a bit of light where it’s unexpected, or some added texture or detail. Sometimes, though, as you can see looking at my work (especially http://www.kelleybard.com/hdr) I do like to get a bit… intense with my HDR. I would say that my work nowadays is about 50% HDR… here is one of the subtle pieces to enjoy.

I’ve heard that flowers make bad HDR, mostly because the HDR process makes things look a bit gritty, a bit dirty almost. I didn’t get that response here, and I like how the HDR brought out a bit of glow that wasn’t visible in the original images.

On this image… I would LOVE to know the name of the flower! Any ideas? Bought at the local flower shop, I guess I could get a name from them if I tried.

I also had to bring back some of the original photos in Photoshop. That is a common part of HDR final processing for me, and one of the most difficult. But worth it when you get an image you really like such as here!

See more of my work at http://www.kelleybard.com, or on facebook or flickr. Word to the wise, I think I will be posting my BIG photo deal (short term and usually spectacular) soon… not sure what it will be but fans on facebook, buzztown and here will get word first!

Enjoy. More flower images coming, plus maybe some old stuff.

For other photographers: in less than 1 year I managed to fill up a TB of memory on my mac with my photos! Is that crazy or what?! So now I’m going through pics, deleting like mad (a process I don’t do well, in any aspect of my life for that matter). I guess I need more backup hard drives? How do you handle this in your work?

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

3 responses to “Pink Flower in HDR, Mac Woes…

Leave a Reply

