Another OnOne Edited Image- Glowing Star Lily & Who Will Be #1000 at www.kelleybard.com??

Since I haven’t had it in me to put together a full review yet of OnOne PhotoTools Pro 2.6, I’ve decided to post images as I do them, explain why I used OnOne there, and then do a “pulling together” review sometime soon.

First off, I chose this flower to photograph because I love Star Lilies. I decided to try (sorta spur of the moment) some backlighting, as I haven’t done that yet with any shots. Once I feel comfy with flowers, I hope, I will be diving into photographing people with various light setups. But first first, right? So I lit this from underneath/camera left, with another light on the background. Then the fun came (although, to be honest, the lighting is pretty fun for me!).

I edited this in Photoshop and Lightroom, and used PhotoTools extensively. I increased the exposure a lot in Lightroom, and really enjoyed the recovery slider there, as I had some blown-out spots on every image. Sigh. But this was a single image, and I got to Photoshop pretty quickly. I went into OnOne PhotoTools almost immediately- I think I messed with the pollen color a bit (that was a major frustration for me, but I think this worked out ok). In PhotoTools I really wanted to highlight the glow through the petals, and there are several filters that worked well for that. ChargeMoreMoneyGlow was one, and I used another but VERY lightly as it “glowed out” everything. I think I returned to Photoshop and played with the brightness and contrast until I felt like I had finished in Photoshop… once I finished there, I took it back to Lightroom and played with the saturation of the colors, finishing with this image that I’m happy with.

I think it’s obvious that I’m happy with PhotoTools, I keep using it with images and only once or twice have I not been happy with my results. The only problem, if you can call it that, would be that there are so, so many filters, and you get only a vague idea what they do from the sample pics shown… you really have to apply it to see how it will affect your image. I’m going to have to keep a list of favs and what they can do, I think. But being overwhelmed by choices in a cheap (well, cheapish) photo manipulation software is a good problem to have.

See more of my images at http://www.kelleybard.com, or my flickr or facebook pages.

*Reminder- if you go to view my images, check the visitor count, as it is creeping closer to 1000! If you are #1000, leave a quick comment so I can reach you later for your free print, ok?*

This is posted

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

