OnOne Comparison… of 1 shot, Spring Bulbs

Here is the original image, taken last year (a bit later in the year, but the idea of spring is making my mouth water I’m so hungry for it!):

I like the spring-like colors, but the touch of yellow was distracting and I didn’t want to toss the whole thing just due to the burnt out section on the main flower, so I went into Photoshop and OnOne PhotoTools and created this:

I really, really liked the dreamy look and glow to it, as that is exactly how I feel about Spring right now- very dreamy and hoping. I added a few glow type filters in PhotoTools, plus one (called Deep Forest, I think) that deepened the green and made it more of a blue tone. I removed the yellow in photoshop and played with the curves to get the blacks just on the edge of black, and the rest of the image staying darkish except for the glow on the flowers.

To me, this is an improvement. I’m not sure if I could have figured out a way to do this just in Photoshop, but it was a delight to have the PhotoTools option available. It makes it so much easier and can get me the exact look I want. Also, I saw last night that I could make some filters “favorites”, which should make it much easier for me to find a specific look for an image (that was one of my main complaints/concerns about PhotoTools, that there are just too many filters to find what you want). I need to figure out if I can do masking there without a Wacom tablet… that is another problem but I’ll let you know if I’ve figured it out!

This is posted to www.kelleybard.com, my website. I also have photos posted to flickr and facebook (links are on this home page). Enjoy and have fun with my work!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

