Korean War Statues

I really like the memorials on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. I took this image (or set of images, as this is a cropped HDR from 3 exposures) in the late summer. This is part of the Korean War Memorial, which was something I stumbled across on a past trip… literally it is a section I had never visited before, and I was walking in the dusk when I came across these statues- in a line, coming out of the trees, apparently on guard for attack… I love the details, the placement, the idea… I was glad to get to take this photograph, and hopefully it is a worthy image of the statues. The original photos had a large chunk of burned out sky which was very boring and distracting. I tried to add textures but I still didn’t like the image much, it took so much away from these statues. I finally got the idea to crop it, and I like this much more. It loses a bit of the nice sunbeams, but overall I’m happier with it now.

Uploaded to www.kelleybard.com, as well as my facebook, flickr and buzztown pages. I would suggest being a fan on facebook or buzztown, as you can find out about deals (I also post about them here). My website has the best resolution of them all, though, for viewing the images. So there are reasons to check each! 🙂

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

