Compare: Snow Covered Trees (IR vs IR Glow)

Above is the “IR Glow” version… I softened the clarity on that one. Below is a more sharpened version.

So… what do you think? We had this great, wet spring snowstorm this week. All of the snow melted quickly, but at 7:30 am my kid woke me and wanted to go play in the snow. I was grumpy until I saw how beautiful it was- then I grabbed my camera and split with her! We were wandering the streets around our house with snowpants over our pj’s, and I managed to snap 200+ pictures in about 15 minutes.

I’ll be showing more over the next week or so, but this one called to me. This is a single shot, with some OnOne conversions that really brought out the glow in the snow. The branches are normally a bright yellow (not sure what kind of tree) so I wanted to remove the colors as much as possible. I used one of the glow filters in PhotoTools and then the B&W IR conversion filter. I reduced that one to allow for some of the blue sky to come back, but really liked the result. So much that later on in Lightroom I took out the yellows and oranges to make it that much more striking. Perhaps someday I’ll set up an IR camera… it’s tempting, for sure!

The two versions are a softened and sharpened version. My vote is for the softened one, surprisingly. You don’t have to look far at my work to see that I like sharpened images a lot. But lately, doing the daily photo thing has caused me to definitely be more creative and more open to different looks and ideas.

Anyways, I would LOVE critiques and/or thoughts on which is a better image. I’ll have an HDR version of this out soon, too, as well as other shots from this glorious morning shoot.

Seen on flickr, facebook and my website, www.kelleybard.com.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Compare: Snow Covered Trees (IR vs IR Glow)

Leave a Reply

