Bald Eagle Flying, and Check This Out: Claude Steelman

Here is my first ever image of a bald eagle. I’m very excited that I was able to find and capture (well, capture an image of) a bald eagle near my home. It’s one of the exciting things about living where I live… I knew that eagles were around, had seen a few far off or flying, but never seen them perched or gotten close enough to recognize them. A few days ago I saw 2 in a tree off the road and found I could get fairly close before they got spooked. The driveway, by the way, led to a deserted shack and current dumping area. It’s a place I had wanted to shoot at recently and was able to get some good images which I’ll be finishing and showing over the next week or so. I didn’t have my camera that morning (shame on me!), but later in the day I made sure to bring it along. Sure enough, there was one eagle sitting in the tree and that is the one seen above.

All that being said, I hope that this is the worst photo of a bald eagle that I ever do. I know it’s small (and this is cropped)… I didn’t really believe that I would see another in the same tree, and I didn’t bother to bring my 400mm lens. Next time, I will be better prepared.

This brings me to my intro to another artist that I respect and admire: Claude Steelman. Claude is a local legend where I live. A neighbor of mine, he is a well-known wild animal photographer and has glorious images of birds, bears, and his favorite, wild horses. Check out www.wildshots.com to see some of his work. He recently opened a shop in Durango to show his images, and I wish him luck with that. It’s right between our local photography shop and the Durango Coffee Company, which is where a lot of the photographers in town hang out and talk shop.

My photography is found at www.kelleybard.com. I also post my daily photos, sometimes with different comments and such to flickr and facebook. See my links to the right to visit all!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

