Easter Toddler and Why Kids Don’t Need to Smile for Every Picture

Another portrait from my studio! I think I really like this look, but I had some questions when I started finishing this image. I usually don’t go all the way to blown out whites (even here, although the whites are close, they aren’t overdone- according to my version of Lightroom and it’s controls, anyways). I’ve seen several child portraits lately, though, that had gone to blown out whites in sections of the image and they looked great. So I was deliberately trying to get there with this image. I love how the skin looks, as well… I started adding a “soft light” layer on top of the photo lately and it is a look that I really like. I doubt it will work for every image but I think I will be going for the dark, intense eyes and glowing skin as much as I can.

Anyways, I think this is just unbearably cute. In my mind, with child photography, you don’t have to get a smile with every image. I personally like the images without smiles 9 times out of 10… kids don’t know how to do a soft smile, usually, so they do the big crazy grins which ruin their eyes. Catching them in a laugh, though… that is quality. I’ll have an example of that soon. I feel like I get a lot more of a true look when the child is engaged, busy, thinking… and generally not smiling. But I also try to get a few smile images with every shoot, and sometimes those end up being my¬†favorites of the session!

Love to hear what other photographers do when faced with photographing children. I’ve got lots of tricks up my sleeve for keeping a kid entertained, interested, and if necessary, smiling. But it’s always fun to hear how others approach the situation!

Catch this and other images on www.kelleybard.com, or check me out on flickr, facebook, twitter or buzztown (links for most are to the right).

Keep checking back, I’ll have a killer offer for my April deal, and it’s coming up in just a few days!

Enjoy.

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

