Antique Car in Field

An interesting find along an unknown road near my home… 3 similar cars, all half-car, half man’s creation with wood and wire and such. I really had to take a photo- not the best time of day, it was very bright out but I played extensively in Photoshop and with some cool tweaks (fill lighting to get into the shadows, and a black and white conversion into infrared which really darkened the sky and lightened the plants) I think it turned out well. I remembered a black and white conversion I saw on PhotoVision a few nights ago (great set of DVDs with various photographers going through their workflow and day to day experiences), on this one the photographer suggested warming up a black and white with a bare hint of white balance shift, and I did that here. It really helped, I think.

I will probably try to get back to this site at a more photo friendly time of day. I’m excited to see how else I can show off this and the other great cars!

Much of my work ends up on my website, which is http://www.kelleybard.com. I’ve put images in galleries there so you can find a specific look if you want. Enjoy exploring! You can also check my links to my facebook, flickr, twitter and buzztown pages. I often include the same photos but with a different idea on each page- facebook and here are all about discussing the backstory to the images and getting feedback, flickr is where I get some great contacts and feedback from incredible photographers, buzztown is a local site where I share my deals and events primarily, and twitter… well, I haven’t figured out what I do on twitter yet. Love to hear how some of you connect with your fans/friends on twitter, I guess!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

