Unconventional Kid’s Portrait & How to Get Good Children’s Portraits

This boy seemed like he didn’t quite want to be in his family’s photo shoot. He kept making faces and refusing to smile. I thought that having some fun with him might be the key, so I arranged for a kids shoot at the playground. He isn’t smiling here, but he got much happier and easier to photograph once I tried a few photos like this one!

Plus, after this one, I was able to get some of the photos that I thought might be more appreciated by his family. But, they did want a photo book of fun, candid images… can’t get much more casual than this!

I’m still learning tools in how to get kids to open up to me. Before photography, I had about a 2/3 success rate with hitting it off with children. But now, I’ve got to have a 100% rate. So I talk to the kids, show them the photos in camera, play with them and with their families… I’m learning but these seem to be consistently good. I’ve also had them take a photo or two of me with my camera before we really get going… that’s a bit scary if you don’t know the kid, or their “caring for stuff” level, though. 🙂

See more at http://www.kelleybard.com. If you are interested in seeing my style with children’s photography, or want to see my portfolio, look on my website for the child portrait gallery. You can also search here for “Studio Images” or “Outside or Clients Homes Portraits”, those are some of the categories I have so you can find examples of images here!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

