Easter Impressionism… Blurred child portrait

With the daily photo thing firmly in my mind, I’m looking for more creative ideas for my photography. I think that is the whole reason for it… Anyways, here is a cute Easter image of one of the kids at the local Easter Egg Hunt. The photo was actually taken after the insanity, as during it, I was desperately trying to follow my own kids through the maze of frantically searching bodies. But I digress.

This was at 1/8th of a second and caught the blur as I followed the kid running. I also thought about trying this with the soccer game happening next to the egg hunt, hopefully that will come in the near future. There were lots of misses with this technique, I’m not great at following movement with the shutter open, but I tried. Usually I bet I’m about 80% on with getting at least a well focused, decently lighted image. Here I got 2 decent photos out of about 15. But it was fun and a good experience!

I had a great photo shoot today with a 9 yr old and her baby sister… total joy to be a photographer during moments like that! I’m sure a photo or two will be posted in the near future.

See my work at www.kelleybard.com. I’ve been getting lots of hits there recently, not sure where they are coming from but it’s nice to be popular! (chortle, laugh).

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

