Abandoned Barn Owl

Last summer (2010) I took this photo while nervously exploring around an abandoned barn and house near where I live.  I was taking photos of the ground level detritus and heard this owl flutter crossly at me (how did I know he was fluttering crossly?  Check out that look on his face.  You would have known it too).

I really liked the image, and took several versions but they were all handheld and very few came out well.  I couldn’t do a traditional HDR although I really wanted to, the light exposures were all blurry.  Even the regular exposures were wonky.  Luckily, the dark exposures came out good and I was able to make a decent single-exposure HDR from this one.  This is also cropped significantly, mostly to make the owl more prominent but also to get some distracting elements out.

Processed with all the toys- Photoshop, Photomatix Pro 4, and Topaz Adjust and Denoise.

This is finally being finished as a part of my 2011 daily photo blog, and I’m not sure if it will end up on http://www.kelleybard.com or not.  It might, I really like it.  It will depend on comments that I get here, on facebook at Kelley Bard Photography’s page, and on flickr “kelleybardphotography”.  I will try to post it on HDRspotting.com as well.  So we will see!

About Kelley B.

I am a Durango, CO photographer who specializes in portraiture and wedding photography. My business is Kelley Bard Photography. You can find me around town, gardening, or on my website at www.kelleybard.com. View all posts by Kelley B.

One response to “Abandoned Barn Owl

Leave a comment